Sphinges, Sibling Selves And Queens

Sphinges, Sibling Selves And Queens


Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Release Date: August 23, 2019
Catalog ID: NEF-56

Sphinges, Sibling Selves and Queens is an album about the riddle of identity in the modern world, the fight for authenticity and the horrors of an empathy free online culture, society and planet. It is about self exploration as liberation, being multi gender and about defeating partial pictures that lead to often willfully badly drawn conclusions. 

"This album means a lot to me and is very personal," says Morgan Y. Evans aka WALKING BOMBS. "Not only do I have longtime guests like Dava She Wolf, Nate Kelley, Jay Andersen, and Alison Babylon on it who I have known for decades, but other amazing people as well. Kentro is my cousin, Globelamp is my partner, and the other guests are all more recent friends from different areas of my life who I am thrilled participated. I was really able to purge a lot of compartmentalized stuff about navigating feeling comfortable being non binary and the perception of others. Julie Catona, my good friend, captured this so incredibly in her nuanced and evocative cover artwork."

"The whole record is about the importance of a sort of cosmic social justice or at least the need for self-respect as well as topics like cultural bias, hostility, finding silver linings even when conquering bullying, and putting your best foot forward in the face of being judged for who you are not," Evans continues. "This one is pretty fun and has a range of influences: from Fear Factory and Skinny Puppy to Olympia K Records and folk/grunge influences; acoustic to grindcore; electronic music to post hardcore, stoner rock, and melodic punk, all make an appearence. And of course a little trombone as well." 

01 Pisces Rising Shine
02 New Familiar Friend
03 Just A Little Too High
04 Cut By Moonlight
05 A Distant Howling
06 Miracle Drug
07 Hypocrites For Christ
08 Fall Back (The Weather Will Change)
09 FTTP://
10 Body Lights
11 Observation Deck / Sphinges, Sibling Selves And Queens
12 Maladaze (Sextant & Malmsey)

Cover art by Julie Catona (Future Illustrations).

Recorded late 2018 - early summer 2019 at Bohemesphere Studios in Saugerties, NY.
"Fall Back" vocals recorded in 2015 by Sean Paul Pillsworth at Leaning Tree Studio.
Engineered, mixed, and mastered by Jay Andersen (Operation Audio).

Morgan Ywain Evans: vocals, bass (except where noted); acoustic guitar on "FTTP://" and "Maladaze"; trombone on "New Familiar Friend”.

Jay Andersen (Surmiser): guitars (except where noted); drums on "Pisces Rising Shine", "New Familiar Friend", and "Maladaze"; keyboards on "Cut By Moonlight".

Dava She Wolf (Star & Dagger, Cycle Sluts From Hell): guitars on "Pisces Rising Shine".

Alison Babylon (The Beautiful Bastards, Oblivion Grin): bass on "Maladaze"; backing vocals on "Body Lights".

Dave Brenner (Gridfailure): sound manipulation and vocal looping on "A Little Too High"; all music on "A Distant Howling".

Elizabeth “Le Fey" Gomez (Globelamp): backing vocals on "FTTP://".

Jem Violet: violins on "Maladaze".

Nate Kelley (Shabutie, Laterals, PPSP): drums, bass, and guitar on "Observation Deck/Sphinges, Sibling Selves And Queens"; drums on "Body Lights" and "Cut By Moonlight".

Kentro: all music on "Fallback".

Justin Pierrot (Stormland): all music on "Miracle Drug".

This album is dedicated to Chuck Mosley, Bobby Delicious, Morgan Spinedi, and Matt Robb (RIP to them all).