Sixth Mass-Extinction Skulduggery I

Sixth Mass-Extinction Skulduggery I


Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Release Date: February 15, 2019
Catalog ID: NEF-50-1

Sixth Mass-Extinction Skulduggery I delivers over fifty-two minutes of GRIDFAILURE’s paranoia-induced powerdementia. The album was entirely conceived, written, executed, recorded, mixed, and completed with hand drawn art by GRIDFAILURE’s architect David Brenner who plays vocals, electric and acoustic guitars, bass, electric, analog, and acoustic drums, keys, synth, harmonica, violin, theremin, field recordings, and more. Many elements of the record were written in times of blackout - including lyrics and themes written during a long blackout during Superstorm Sandy before GRIDFAILURE’s inception – and elements recorded during open air sessions during extreme storms including outdoors, and more, helping embody the outfit’s moniker itself.

Additionally, the series embodies a wide range of contributions from fellow henchpersons who help sculpt the auditory terror into curious new dimensions, including bass from Greg Meisenberg (A Fucking Elephant, Maid Myriad, Tombs-live), vocals from Joy Von Spain (Eye Of Nix, To End It All), accordion from Benjamin Levitt (Megalophobe, Gridfailure-live), guitar from Pete Tsakiris, ukulele from Christopher Henry (Humans Etcetera, Fuck Your Birthday), and drums from BJ Allen (Full Scale Riot). The album was mastered by Dan Emery at Black Matter Mastering (Buzzov*en, Kool Keith, Dwarves, Krieg, AxCx).

01 Sandy
02 Dysmorphia For One’s Neighbor
03 ICBMs In The Storm’s Eye
04 Sixth Mass-Extinction Skulduggery I: Survivor’s Remorse
05 Post-Attack Habitat
06 Directly In Its Path
07 Phosphorous Fog
08 Exsanguination Of The Utopians

Conceived, executed, engineered, and mixed by Dave Brenner
Mastered by Dan Emery at Black Matter


David Brenner – Vocals, Electric Drums/Percussion, Theremin, Field Recordings
Benjamin Levitt – Accordion
Greg Meisenberg – Bass
Christopher Henry – Ukulele

"Dysmorphia For One’s Neighbor"
David Brenner – Vocals, Violin, Harmonica, Theremin, Effects, Field Recordings
Greg Meisenberg – Bass

"ICBMs In The Storm’s Eye"
David Brenner – Vocals, Keyboards, Percussion, Field Recordings
Christopher Henry – Ukulele

"Sixth Mass-Extinction Skulduggery: Survivor’s Remorse"
David Brenner – Vocals, Acoustic Guitars, Keyboards, Electric/Acoustic Drums, Percussion, Effects, Field Recordings
Joy Von Spain – Vocals

"Post-Attack Habitat"
David Brenner – Vocals, Bass, Guitars, Bass, Xylophone, Percussion, Effects, Field Recordings
Spencer – Vocals

"Directly In Its Path"
David Brenner – Vocals, Acoustic Guitars, Drums/Percussion, Contact Mic/Effects, Field Recordings
Joy Von Spain – Vocals, Synth
Pete Tsakiris – Guitars
Greg Meisenberg – Bass

"Phosphorus Fog"
David Brenner – Vocals, Guitars, Analog Synth, Keyboards, Percussion, Effects
BJ Allen – Drums

"Exsanguination Of The Utopians"
David Brenner – Vocals, Guitars, Violin, Xylophone, Field Recordings
Benjamin Levitt – Accordion