Suitcase of Voices

Suitcase of Voices


Regular price
Sale price
Regular price
Sold out
Unit price

Release Date: November 13, 2020
Catalog ID: NEF-70

POLYPHOZIA is a grunge/post-rock trio formed in Wenzhou, China, and known locally as 怕繁杂 Pàfánzá (pinyin) which literally translates to “afraid of complication.'' However, there’s been no attempts to keep it simple. Their sprawling song structures are filled with lavish high points, roomy lows, unhurried build-ups, sudden halts, garage-rock clamor, and moments of ethereal wonder. As a band of American and Chinese nationals, having conflicting cultures and languages plays a prominent role in song-writing and stylistic sensibility. POLYPHOZIA will release Suitcase of Voices, their long-awaited debut full-length, with Nefarious Industries this fall. The album features a blend of grunge, shoegaze, and a touch of progressive rock, and weaving the record’s ten tracks together is a narrative dealing with the aftermath of a relationship-ending argument.

01 Tornado Alley
02 Question
03 Wordless Drive
04 Sandwich
05 Balloon
06 Distracted
07 Foolish
08 Make Sure
09 Wordless Walk
10 The Bus

Drums recorded by Christopher Henry and Logan Long at J-Listen 基利心 in Wenzhou, China, on April 4, 2019.

Bass and vocals recorded by Christopher Henry and Zim Chen at Passion Music 派森音乐 in Wenzhou, China, on May 14, 2019.

Guitars recorded by Christopher Henry in his apartment in Wenzhou, China, the week of May 4, 2019.

Mixed by David Klug at David Klug Studio in Pittsburgh, PA, throughout July and August 2019.

Mastered by Bill Henderson at Azimuth Mastering in NJ in September 2019.

Art by Zikai Chen.